The Wonderful Life of the World’s Best Beagle

A year ago today my world fell apart. A year ago today my heart shattered into a million pieces that I still haven’t quite put back together yet. A year ago today I lost my darling dog, my best friend, and my brother.

I’ve come across a lot of people who haven’t understood the deep connection I shared with Max. When I told people that he had passed away they would say,
“That’s sad, but he was just a dog. You’ll get over it.”

But Max was never just a dog to me.

I think, as an eight-year-old only child, when this tiny puppy who was so full of joy and personality arrived into my life, he filled a gap in my life that I never knew existed. Max became my emotional support, my rock, my confidence, all the things that a human sibling would be. When nine-year-old me got in trouble from my parents for not doing my homework, I would tell Max about it. When twelve-year-old me was fighting with my best friend, I would tell Max about it. When fifteen-year-old me had a crush on a boy, I would tell Max about it. Admittedly, he never really gave me much advice – he wasn’t very talkative. However, he was there for me when I needed him.

Losing Max was like losing a true member of my family. He’s left a void in my life that I don’t think will ever truly be filled. I miss him every moment of every day, however I will always be forever grateful for the wonderful long life he had, despite some bumps in the road.

Let me share that life with you now:

2002 – Maxie Moo joins the family!

2 4 5 3 7 6 Max (49) 9 8 - Copy

Some of Max’s favourite past times included: being disobedient, pretending not to hear you, destroying everything he could get his teeth on, jumping on the trampoline, playing tug-o-war, and going for walks and runs on the beach with Dad.

12 11 Max (46) Max (45)

Maxie Moo and his extensive list of injuries and problems.

During his life, Max broke his tail, had a knee replacement, had multiple tumours removed, somehow managed to slice his stomach open at the dog park, and survived cancer. His heart once stopped during surgery and he had to be revived by the vets. Turns out he’d developed an allergic reaction to anaesthetic. But if that’s not enough, he was also allergic to grass, which meant his paws needed constant care to keep them from getting sore and swollen. Max had an under-active thyroid condition which he had to be medicated for, he also took glucosamine and fish oil tablets for his arthritis. On top of that, he had no tear ducts in one eye, so had to receive regular eye drops. During summer, not enough clean air could get into his ear canals due to his floppy ears, which meant fungal infections and therefore constant ear drops as well.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100 VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100 VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Due to these injuries and not being able to use steps, sometimes alternative transport had to be arranged.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100 VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Max enjoyed spending time with his friends.

Max (11) Max (13) VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100 DSCN1751 Max & Alby 1 ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Sometimes those friends were mine.

Max (14) Max (1) IMG_0276

I will always admire Moo for his ability to put up with my nonsense.

13 Max (15) Max (53) Max Xmas_09( IMG_1035 IMG_4414 Teemo IMG_4463 IMG_6946 IMG_0724

   I’m sure the endless selfies once I got a smartphone were a bit of a drag for Max too.

IMAG0595 IMG_1425 IMG_3413 IMG_4181 IMG_4620 IMG_6278 IMG_6275 IMG_6562 IMG_6598

There are honestly thousands more, but I figure you’ve probably had enough!

Now on to some fun facts!

Max was absolutely terrified of the pool up until the summer of 2012, when the heat simply became too much for Max to bear and he gave in to temptation.

??????????????????????

 He never got over his distaste for baths though.

“And here we see the helpless Beagle struggling for its life.”

IMG_3714IMG_3717IMG_3739IMG_3743Max spent most of his free time upside down.

IMG_3398 IMG_0067 IMG_6575

 Max also enjoyed spending time in cupboards and on his bean bag.

IMG_3914 IMG_1060

Max had a fantastic life. He lived to be eleven – he died a month before his twelfth birthday.
He was happy, he was loved, and he will forever be missed. I love you, Moo.

Max Epi Ward
22 April 2002 – 06 March 2014

IMG_7330

8 thoughts on “The Wonderful Life of the World’s Best Beagle

  1. A wonderful tribute to your beautiful boy, Livvy. I understand perfectly the hole he has left in your life. i am still struggling over losing Maxie’s cousin and our furry boy Jetty. They were always great mates, weren’t they, and such fun they both had at Cockatoo Creek and Currimundi. They were both very special members of our family. and we were blessed to have had them in our lives. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here I was, just casually going through blogs from the class group IAB260, and then I stumbled upon this. Max seemed like a wonderful little dog, and after reading this, I already miss him as well. He will be living it up in puppy heaven right now, avoiding all the baths he can, and laying upside down as much as possible. He looked like he lived a good life! As Lorelle said, ‘There will never be another Max.’ But the memory you’ve created of him will live on forever. Stay strong my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post. I adore beagles and have one of my own. Max seems like he was a good beagle, a good brother, and an ambassador of all things beagley! I didn’t know him, but this post tugged at my heart.

    Like

  4. Pets can have a powerful importance to a family, and I am glad that you and Max had a fulfilling life together. I envy and fear wonderful pet relationships like yours and many of my friends who have pets. In my youth, I had a connected relationship with a few animals, but was doomed from the beginning because they were no more than accessories to the people who did have the resources and capabilities to take them to important services such as veterinary clinics and provide proper pet tools and maintenance.

    Sorry for your loss, but it does sound like you gave your Max the best years a dog could ever have with his family 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

